Remembering Dave’s Vision

Since November of 2016 and especially in the last few days. I have been having such misgivings about what is happening in Washington. Not that I have ever lived there, no, but since this last election, I have been totally drawn into the chaos that has become the mainstay of this administration.  All this is very disheartening, to say the least.

Out of this despair erupted a desire to see what a good presidency looked like even though it may have been created through the eyes of Gary Ross, the movie’s screenwriter.  So, I pulled out an old VHS copy of the movie DAVE with Kevin Kline and Sigourney Weaver.  There is something  wonderful about Dave’s speech close to the end of the movie where he says, “I forgot that I was hired to do a job for you and that it was just a temp job at that. I forgot that I had two hundred and fifty million people who were paying me to make their lives a little better and I didn’t live up to my part of the bargain.”

I could have added, not through tweets but public service, not through lies, but truth, not through worrying about myself but to putting the country first.

Perhaps, in a few years our nation can get back to that vision of what my boss use to call “servant leaders” where the representatives who we pay dearly stand up for what is right and fair and not be so concerned only with themselves.

Then we can truly be “one nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”

In the meantime, rent this movie and watch it just to feel more hopeful about our future as a nation.

dave

Leave a Reply

