Why Do We Have Easter?

Jesus and the child

Every year at Easter time the kiddos in my kindergarten class get all excited about annual egg hunts and bunny visits.  This is when I take the time at the end of the day when we are getting ready to leave to ask, “Who can tell me why we have Easter?”

It’s amazing the answers I get from, “So we can color eggs”, to “So the Easter bunny can bring us toys.”  But every once in a while a child comes up with the truth. “Because Jesus died on the cross for our sins and came to life again on the third day.”  Talk about out of the mouth of babes!

I agree with them and reword this so all the children can understand.  “Jesus was a wonderful man who lived to help other people.  There were mean people who didn’t like this, so they killed him.  But He came back to life on the third day.”  This explanation seems so simple.  However, when I’m trying to explain this to children’s whose families may or may not have exposed them to the truth I find myself treading lightly.

I also find myself adding, “And He loves you just like I do.”  Perhaps it is as simple as that. After all, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life” John 3:16.  This was the first Bible verse I ever learned and after losing a son of my own, these words can still break my heart.

But like the little boy said who shared that simple truth, Jesus “came back to life on the third day”.  And this is why we have Easter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

